Josh Gleason
Lead Vocals

Rich DellaPietra

Mario Encina

Chris DiStasio
Bass and Guitars

Dan Staversky
Lead Guitar
Josh Gleason

Josh Gleason

Lead Vocals

Josh was born in 1976, the same year Trick of the Tail was released. Who would have thought 34 years later he would be singing Gabriel Era Genesis? Although he was quite young for this material, Josh explains that "it was my father that would be the most influential person as far as my musical talents go. As far back as I can remember it was always progressive rock that was being played in my home and vacation trips. I remember my father's record collection consisted of a variety of great music such as UK, Genesis, Rush, Yes, Zeppelin, Vangelis, The Police, Maynard Fergeson, and Bill Chase to name a few." Josh has always had much broader musical tastes than any of his friends. "I remember my 8th grade trip to Darien Lake and all the kids were listening to New Kids on the Block, Dino, Bell Biv Devoe, and I was listening to Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Genesis, and at that time lots of Jethro Tull. I also remember my father taking me to see Rush when I was in 5th grade. I thought I was so cool because the concert was on a school night."

Because his father was in bands as an accomplished jazz drummer, Josh was always well aware of music and gravitated to the stage. Although he didn’t play any instruments he used to put on his favorite records, grab a hair brush and sing his heart out into the mirror, most likely perfecting his rock moves instead of working on his voice. Many people may not know this but Josh has known Mario for about 20 years. "Even though I was younger than him, he was the guy in my school that shared the same appreciation for progressive rock as I did. In 1997 Mario and I were writing original material together when he told me about a project that would be performing The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway for a one-off show. I went down and auditioned and the rest is history. Many years later we are still together as The Waiting Room."

Playing with The Waiting Room has opened up other great opportunities for Josh. In 2005 Josh was recruited to sing for a new progressive project called K2 that featured Ken Jaquess on Bass, Ryo Okomuto on Keyboards (Spock’s Beard) and Allan Holdsworth on Guitar (UK). In March of 2010, K2 signed a record deal with Magna Carta records.

© Copyright 2024 - The Waiting Room
Website photography by Jim Mahoney and Gregg Horst

Contact the Webmaster